Benefit for Victims

IMG_0279

On February 10th 2013 was my brother’s 1 year Angelversary of his homicide, and my 10 year old daughter wanted to do something special. I told her we’d have a little party at our house the Saturday February 9th. I post the event on a social network and got so many responds. I really should have known it wasn’t going to be just a little celebration, after all he had over 300 people at his memorial service. I then called a hall to rent, got a DJ and decided to make it a big celebration of his life. In the meantime, I had people sending donations and donating items, food, and such. I had no idea what I was going to do with all the stuff that was being donated. It was then the ladies I work with from the Autism Society of Berks, said about raffling the stuff off, and raising money. I thought that was a great idea, however, the family didn’t need any money. After the homicide of my brother, our family got a lot of help from a nonprofit organization called Years of Tears. The nonprofit organization raises awareness and rights for homicide victims and their families here in Berks County, Pa. The president of this organization has been friends of our family for many years, and I am glad to know her, and glad to have gotten to know other’s who have been affected by such tragedy. It was then that I thought what a great way to pay the organization back for all their time and help, but to donate any money we raise to the nonprofit organization. I am also proud to say, not only have this organization became a part of my family, but I am now the secretary of Years of Tears. I worked night and day on the benefit to make it a success. We had about 40  items people donated that we raffled off. I also had one of those fake trees there with pictures of my brother clipped to the leaves. He was a tree trimmer, so I clipped pictures to the leaves of the tree, and people took a picture of him in return for cash. We had several $20, one $100, two $2, etc bills. We had plenty of food, drinks, and a awesome poker cake done by our cousin. We danced, told stories 841316_449432625128374_1448258364_o had pictures of him throughout the hall, and had a book where we could write my brother a message.  The event went from 7:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. Everyone had a great time and it was a successful turnout and at the end of the night we had raised $758 for the nonprofit organization Years or Tears. It was a little hectic, but well worth it. Not only did we celebrate my brother’s life, but we helped other’s who endured such tragedy, a tragedy you never get passed. I think I did very well considering this had been the first benefit I did, and I’d gladly do it again, with the exception of changing a few things.

Leave a comment